10,000 Word Shout Out for NaNoWriMo

So, I did it. Although a day or two behind schedule, I’ve managed to reach my 10,000 word mark with a roaring sex scene, a cameo appearance by a cartoon character, a duck and a dark villain wanting to quit the business to settle down. Like the mob from Terry Pratchett’s Night Watch I find myself wanting to fight for: Truth! Justice! Freedom! Reasonably Priced Love and a Hard Boiled Egg!

I’m beginning to realize just how much is needed to do this right. I’m still feeling the gap that my late start enforced on me and wonder if this is what athletes feel like who had a bit of a stumble in a marathon and lost a few minutes. Even though you know you’re a fast runner, you just somehow cannot catch up with the rest of the pack. But, it’s getting better and I am still having a whale of a time – which is all that matters really. My goal for today is to reach 12000 words. 13000 if I can help it. The only glitch with that is that I have to go and work in about two hours. Yes, it’s the waitress thing again and although waitressing has a positive influence on those creative juices (lots of time to think about plot lines and characterizations) you don’t have the time to physically sit down and write it.

I’ve come to realize that the next few days will make or break me, and if I can’t pull ahead of the pack now, then I won’t be able to in the long run because the amount of words you need to write just keeps getting more and more. But, I know there’s hope and I’m not going to take this lying down. 😉

It’s too much fun.

Leave a Reply

