NaNo. Still.

So, being just short of my target at 17k words (where I should be at 20k today) I thought I’d once again take a moment to blog. (Read: PROCRASTINATE!!!!)

It’s the 12th day of Nano, and my 8th. I’m still behind, chasing my goal through the chaos of my life. My mum’s been in a terrible car accident, my partner’s computer broke and I had to give mine (willingly) to help and I found out that I’ve got a pretty big interview sometime next week that I have to prepare for. On top of that there’s work, my horse, my dog and everybody and everything else that suddenly demands attention.

I should be panicked, but strangely enough… I’m not.

I’m quite calm because I’m pretty well supported. My partner is great about it all, and very apologetic about the computer, my mum’s alright (essentially) and my horse is my anchor.

I’ve also discovered a few invaluable things (once again) and I would like to share with you what encourages me to continue writing.

1)    My love for it. I’ve been doodling for more than ten years now, having picked up a pen to bleed my thoughts for the first time when I was 10. Even as I’m chasing down this relentless and seemingly impossible target, I find myself enjoying every moment of it.

2)    Coffee. The stuff most NaNoWriMo writers are made of.

3)    My fellow NaNoWriMo’s. I love the forums.

4)    My dog for being with me the whole time. She’s really writing it, I’m just dictating. 😉

5)    Kim Harrison – Author of the Hollows. This woman is incredible, not only is she a real life successful author, but she takes the time to talk to everybody who writes on her blog (and facebook!) and posts advice everyday. She’s a big supporter of the NaNoWriMo authors. It’s great.

6)    Faith. In what? No nothing. Just Faith. Granny Weatherwax type faith. 😉

 

My story has very little plot, my characters very little sense and I keep falling into terrible editing habits. I can’t write multiple endings, lol, and I’m TERRIBLE at planning. I’ve decided that next year, I’m going to be more prepared.

Have a good day all,

Alyssa

4 thoughts on “NaNo. Still.

  1. Phil November 14, 2009 / 8:37 pm

    Hey Alyssa, i came across your blog and found it fun reading. You have my total admiration and respect for doing all you do! Hope your Mom’s doing better. Did I read you live in Scotland? My Dad’s family came from Edinburgh way back when.
    Phil, a fellow Kim H fan… 🙂

    • Alyssa November 15, 2009 / 11:52 pm

      Hello there Phill,
      🙂 thank you so much! What a treat to find this comment. 🙂 This is a fairly new blog so needless to say I haven’t had a lot.
      Alas, i don’t live in scotland anymore – i used to last year. I worked there for four months, then returned for a month this year to do some backpacking. I loved the country.
      My mum is doing much better!
      Hope this finds you well,
      Alyss

  2. GreyIxia November 17, 2009 / 1:25 am

    Wow! Like Phil, I admire you deeply. And like Phil, I stumbled across your blog and liked reading it. I noticed that you commented under my comment from Kim H’s blog, hehe :). Plus I am kind of bored so I needed something to do and what better way is there than to occupy yourself by reading random strangers’ blogs? 🙂
    You have overwhelming work hours and everything, yet still manage to participate in NaNoWriMo AND you started late? Talk about incredible…
    I only found out about NaNo on November 13th so I will participate next year hopefully :).
    But seriously, I thought being a freshman in high school was time-demanding. Now that I have learned a little about your life, I am not feeling as overwhelmed as I was before.

    And in case you do not check out my blog :), I write poetry, lyrics and short stories. A lot of my poems are posted on my blog (they are pretty morbid though. Like, Edgar Allan Poe worthy). And I am writing a novel in place of NaNo which I will do at my own pace. I have been inspired by Kim H :).

    I really need to stop leaving such long comments… Sorry 🙂

    Oh, P.S. Do you have a Scottish accent? I think they are so adorable!!!! (Ever since I saw Water Horse: Legend of the Deep, I began thinking so :D)

    • Alyssa November 17, 2009 / 2:51 pm

      Hello there GreyIxia, 🙂
      It’s a pleasure to hear from you!

      You should definitively partake in NaNoWriMo next year! you can write a series of short stories if you are not the novel lenght kind of author. one of our region fellows is writiing his Thesis in Chemistry this month. It’s facinating what people get up to.

      And, don’t be daunted by my hours, lol, honestly – I choose a lot of them. I can sit back and be quiet, but i don’t (because I need the money admittably, my horse doesn’t feed himself, silly bugger…). We choose how we work, 🙂 Never let anybody bully you into doing time and hours that you don’t feel up to.

      Yes, i have a faint scottish accent. 🙂 It’s fading sadly, but it’s still there…
      I have gone to your blog! i will read more when i have time. 🙂 (December…) 😉 But, i think that you write beautiful words. Thank you for sharing them!
      Have a great day,

      Alyss

Leave a Reply

