Be Prepared…

So, today I have a song stuck in my head and it’s REALLY interfering with my writing. I did some babysitting the other night and caught the last glimpse of the movie Hoodwinked. For those of you who are not familiar with it, it’s an computer animation film that puts a bit of a different and modern twist on the whole Little Red Riding Hood story. I didn’t enjoy the movie, but there was this one character – Japeth the Singing Goat that just made my day. Seeing the end of the film, I remembered the goat and thought that I’d go to youtube and find his song. To my delight at first (and now my horror) I found it and I won’t lie to you, I’ve been listening to it all day. I can’t help myself. I want to listen to other songs but every time I start, I find myself thinking:

Just one more time…

I didn’t write this weekend and I’ve got a lot of things to catch up with! I can’t afford a singing goat in my mind, but I really can’t help myself.
The thing is, there’s a tiny life lesson in this song as well. Some of the lyrics are:

This lesson must be shared

To be prepared

To be prepared, to be prepared

And unless you’ve got a spare

You’ve got one life
so handle it with care…

You see, through all the singing, dear Japeth’s onto something and that’s to be prepared for anything life can throw at you. Be it a car accident, a bad semester mark, a bad review or an avalanche set off by bandits to try and kill your grandmother…

I don’t always have the strength for Mondays because I work very hard over the weekends, but today I feel prepared for anything this week can throw at me. And, it’s sad to say, lol, but it’s all thanks to an old singing goat.

2 thoughts on “Be Prepared…

  1. Phil December 1, 2009 / 12:47 am

    A singing goat? Well, that’s a first! 🙂 I think i know how those songs can stay in your head, especially this time of year when every shop and street corner is playing holiday songs and you can’t stop singing, humming or, even worse, whistling tunes you’ve heard since childhood, lol. Not to sound like a grinch but just how many times can you sing a tune to yourself before going completely nuts!!

    Congrats again on NaNo! Someone should bake you a cake! 🙂

  2. Alyssa December 7, 2009 / 11:41 am

    Hmm. yes, a singing goat, and I’m still hearing it in my head. Today i’m drowning him out with Belinda Carslisle’s La Luna.

Leave a comment