NaStyRoMo

Okay Antonio, Okay. Lol. Stalking me all the way to my blog. I’ll do it. Or try to. Lol. I’ll write your short romance for the month of Romance. I’ll even try and make it supernatural and add a little bit of f/f fluff. I don’t know where this will go, I literally just typed it out in ten minutes. I’ll try to keep it short. I’ll try to finish it.

Lol. I’ll even try to make it readable.

Here you go:

Bitten.

She shuddered, her body aflame and her thoughts scattered like the stars in the universe. She’d have screamed if she remembered how to, but words have dissolved to senseless babble and none of them could describe the agony that she was going through. Everything was crushed inside her, her memories, her dreams, even her name, forgotten now under the pressure of the fever inside her. There was only one way, one sound that could bring release, one gesture to communicate, and relieve, her inner turmoil.

A howl. Clear and strong.

A howl…

A touch of cold dissolved the urge, bringing some of her thoughts together and a touch of pain made her open her eyes. She swallowed dryly and looked up into concerned green eyes, so vivid that it made her think of the forest.

“Ssh,” the green eyes said softly. “Just lie still Vaughn, don’t try to move. Not yet.”

Vaughn? She thought as she remembered how to think. Vaughn… My name. Siobhan.

She swallowed again and tried to reach up, wishing to touch the forest, to feel the cool beneath it’s canopy, smell the freedom that it offered her. “Please,” she found herself whispering. “May I have water?”

Water, a stream, standing in it under the moonlight.

The green eyes, so concerned, turned kind as the face nodded. She could see beyond her companions green orbs now, the slight touch of wrinkles in her face, her dark, greying hair. She knew that she should remember her but she couldn’t, even though her gentle touch was familiar and her voice brought so much comfort.

We’ve known each other for a long time… She realized as the woman carefully held a cup to her lips and lifted a head so that she could drink, the fever inside her throbbing against her temples as it manifested in a headache. What’s wrong with me?

The woman grimaced and glanced at her, clearly unsure of what to say. Had I spoken out loud? Siobhan thought suddenly. I didn’t…

“You don’t remember,” her words were clearly unsure and Siobhan couldn’t understand whether it was a statement or a question so she shook her head slowly either in answer or confirmation.

Her companion didn’t reply immediately, but stood up and out of her vision, only to return what felt like second later with fresh phial of water and a cloth to wipe off her forehead.

“I told you not to follow me,” the woman said sadly, “to just let it be but you couldn’t.” Her green eyes met her own. “Siobhan, you’ve been bitten…”

To Be Continued…

I have to go to work now, lol.

Alyssa

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “NaStyRoMo

  1. Antonio Rich February 1, 2010 / 5:09 pm

    Oh my gosh! Every time I read somebody’s post I think “OK, that one’s the best.” A mystery! I love it! Why did she follow? Why can’t she remember? Bitten? Bitten by what? Terrific. 😀

    • Alyssa February 1, 2010 / 9:31 pm

      Come back for the next episode tomorrow. 😉
      Warning, don’t expect light and fluffy, lol, I don’t do light and fluffy. I try, I always do, but somehow, someway…

  2. Gail February 1, 2010 / 5:23 pm

    Nice hook! Now I need to get the answers to all the questions Antonio mentioned and more. Kudos.

    • Alyssa February 1, 2010 / 9:32 pm

      Thank you kindly!

  3. Kylie Ru February 1, 2010 / 7:01 pm

    Just because I can, I’m gonna comment over here!

    What kind of bitten?! With the howl does that mean werewolf? I wanna know!

    • Alyssa February 1, 2010 / 9:33 pm

      Much appreciated! 🙂 Always good to have comments at the end of a post. 😉 shows it’s being read.
      As I told Antonio, come back and find out tomorrow. 😛
      Have a great day!
      Alyss

  4. Phil February 1, 2010 / 11:40 pm

    I like it!!! 🙂

    Thanks for the offer of your page, Alyssa. How do I get it up there?

    • Alyssa February 2, 2010 / 7:52 am

      just send it to me, i’ll send you my email address, and I’ll create a side page where you can post it. 🙂 If you want, I can try and sort out your WP problems, then you can post it in your own blog, lol. 🙂

  5. Phil February 2, 2010 / 12:22 am

    I just noticed the awaiting moderation thing. I used another email address back when I first commented on your blog so that’s why it’s awaiting moderation.
    Anyway, sorry I haven’t posted here in a while. So little time in the day. But I always read your blog.
    Oh, I tried to sign up for a wp blog but they said my email is taken. Yeah! By me! Guess I’m doin’ something not right.

    • Alyssa February 2, 2010 / 7:58 am

      I think it’s just a matter of confusion. Try asking WP to send you your password and blog info. You can do it at the following page:
      http://wordpress.com/wp-login.php?action=lostpassword

      Then, just type in your email address and they will send you not only your account name but your password as well. Then, you use your account name to sign in. You should be able to set up your blog then.
      Alternatively, I’ll make you a side page here. 🙂

  6. Tiffany February 2, 2010 / 4:43 am

    Nice job Alyssa! There is already so much mystery and tension! I love the way we come into the story at a moment when the main character is trying to figure out what is going on. Speaking of which…I can’t wait to find out what is going on!

    • Alyssa February 2, 2010 / 7:59 am

      Thank you for reading! 😀 It’s a pleasure.

  7. suzannelazear February 2, 2010 / 6:48 am

    Great job! My guess is that she was bitten by Vampire Giraffes.

    • Alyssa February 2, 2010 / 7:59 am

      I’m going with…
      Well.
      We’ll see, lol.

  8. Aheïla February 2, 2010 / 2:31 pm

    I just read it and I love it! I’m beating myself up over not being able to get around to your page before today. And now, I really have to head out to work so I’ll have to wait before I read part 2.
    The suspense is killing me!

Leave a Reply

