Life Happens.

When you are making plans and setting yourself deadlines and goals.

In an attempt to get my writing back to up scratch, I’ve set myself a couple of goals this week to adhere to. Things went well the first two days but then, as these things happen, I soon became swamped with work and life matters. I spend three gruelling days on the road, driving to chicken farms, preparing a lecture that I had to give at a farm day and trying to squeeze in some sleep in between. My writing stagnated and my goals for the week seemed to shatter.

My first instinct was to give up and deem myself a failure. These writing goals were mine, so surely I can just give them up if I want to?

Right?

Wrong.

What would be the point in setting goals and then not adhering to them? Yes, I make my own rules, but what kind of a person would I be if I break them?

And honestly – am I a quitter?

No.

So, I need to sit down and re-evaluate my action plan and take things one step at a time.

You see, in a way everything in life works that way. It’s impossible to be ahead all of the time. Inevitably, at some point or another, you’ll find yourself with more things in front of you than you are capable of doing. When that happens, there are a few things that you need to do.
1) Don’t panic – Panicking makes you less productive.
2) Don’t try to do everything at once – Not all of us are super human. If you try to do everything at once, you’ll fail with most of the stuff and that will make you disappointed in yourself.
3) Priorities – I can’t put enough stress on this one. Decide what needs to be done first. Eg – a blog post, telling people what you are up to. 😉
4) Make a list, and start with the thing on the top of the list – When you’re done, cross it off. It is very very satisfying to see the amount of stuff that you need to do slowly decrease. I discovered this while I was still on campus, trying to juggle about 30% more subjects than the other students of my group. It’s a simple method but it works.
5) Remember to have fun – All work and no play, makes writers uncreative.

This is my method of operation for the rest of the day. J If it works out, 😉 you’ll hear from me again.

2 thoughts on “Life Happens.

  1. Aheïla September 23, 2010 / 6:45 pm

    That’s my girl! 😉
    You’re list is impeccable and yes, don’t panic is definitely step one!
    You can do it! You can do it! (Where the hell did I put those pompom?)

  2. Ryan September 24, 2010 / 6:21 am

    You will do it!
    I like that one about the list. xD

Leave a Reply

