Aheila’s Drabble Day Challenge – Sleep

This is another Drabble Day Challenge from Aheila. The topic today is sleep, something I’m doing very little of the past couple of days.

And this is supposed to be my holiday…

Sleep

Sleep.

I wish that I could sleep, that I could drop away into the bliss of my dreams. In my dreams where I can fly, where I can visit worlds that do not exist, where I can see loved ones long dead.

Where I can run with wolves.

But, it is hot tonight. So hot that I cannot find the strength to lie down on my warm bed, much less drift off into a content slumber.

So, I sit here and type, for that is what I can do. Sleep will come later, or tomorrow – but my words are here now.

17 thoughts on “Aheila’s Drabble Day Challenge – Sleep

  1. Ryan December 28, 2010 / 9:58 pm

    You wanna run with wolves!? 😉
    This is really good, Alyss. It reads like poetry! 🙂

    • Alyssa December 29, 2010 / 1:05 pm

      LOL, I already run with wolves in my dreams. 😉
      Thank you for teh comment ryan!

  2. Jenn December 28, 2010 / 10:12 pm

    i agree, it does read like poetry. i take it, you’re having a heat wave right now?

    • Alyssa December 29, 2010 / 1:06 pm

      A terrible one. It’s really hot, I slept on teh cold stone floor last night. I only moved to my bed when it cooled down considerably.

  3. Lectin Gaezat December 28, 2010 / 10:48 pm

    Yay run with wolves! That is so how we must live in dreams.

    Vicariously.

    • Alyssa December 29, 2010 / 1:06 pm

      I try to live so in life! 🙂 Thank you for the comment and welcome to my blog!

  4. lynnette-net December 29, 2010 / 8:33 am

    I agree with Ryan, it reads like poetry. Good one!

    • Alyssa December 29, 2010 / 1:07 pm

      Thank you very much! 🙂 i can’t rhyme to save my life, so I try to capture the rhythm of poetry with words.

  5. mish December 29, 2010 / 10:42 pm

    Hey Aly ~~ I really liked the opening lines : the sense of being free and unrestricted , not confined by the limitations of the “waking world’ ; and then the tone shift to acknowledge the hot weather that will actually prevent this “escape” into slumberland . Really effective !

    • Alyssa January 6, 2011 / 6:15 pm

      🙂 Thank you very much! It came out better than I expected, lol. But then I never expect much… 0_0

  6. Re Gypsy December 31, 2010 / 3:24 pm

    It really does flow beautifully. Hot weather man i’m still walking around in my snow boots!

  7. Aheïla January 2, 2011 / 5:44 pm

    I tend to forget that while we’re freezing, you’re melting. *laughs*
    As Mish said, the contrast between the permissive dream state and the restrictive waking state is interesting and “emotes” a lot.
    “Here are my fresh, free desires.” Then it all literally comes crashing down on “But it’s hot tonight.”

    • Alyssa January 6, 2011 / 6:15 pm

      I can’t forgert it even if I want to, lol. I’m not fond of winter.

  8. Tiffany January 6, 2011 / 3:58 am

    Nice job Alyss! You created a wonderful tension between what you dream of doing and what you can do, between what is here now and what is lost. Also, the rhythm and flow of your writing is great.

    • Alyssa January 6, 2011 / 6:12 pm

      Thanks Tiffany!

Leave a Reply

