Aheila’s Drabble Day Challenge – Freedom

I have a horse, which is all I have to say to explain this post.
This is for Aheila’s Drabble Day Challenge.
Here is how the drabble challenge works!

Read the prompt and find your angle.
Write a drabble (100 words story, give or take five words).
Post a direct link to your drabble in the comments (or, if you don’t have a blog, just go ahead and post your drabble in the comments).

Drabble – Freedom.

I feel you move beneath me, every tug on the reins, every step, every slight toss of your head. I know what you look at, what you feel, what you fear.

You are me, and I am you because we are one.

When I ask, you give. Speed. Power. Loyalty.

You gave up your freedom for me, and through that you give me mine.

Freedom to fly, to feel the wind as you feel it. Freedom to feel my heart beat with yours as we race on God’s given earth.

Because you are me, and I am you.

11 thoughts on “Aheila’s Drabble Day Challenge – Freedom

  1. sonia January 23, 2011 / 10:36 pm

    I thought this was a very sweet piece!

    • Alyssa January 24, 2011 / 9:36 pm

      🙂 Thank you and welcome to my blog!

  2. Ryan January 23, 2011 / 11:26 pm

    Great drabble, Alyss! Your description of the experience of horseback riding giving you total freedom and a feeling of oneness with your horse is exquisitely expressed.

    • Alyssa January 24, 2011 / 9:36 pm

      Thanks mate. 😉

  3. Lectin Gaezat January 24, 2011 / 12:45 pm

    This was so sweet to write (and for me to read!). Horseback riding is one of the few things I want to try in life but can’t just yet due to the lack of horses (and open space) over here in Singapore.

    • Alyssa January 24, 2011 / 9:37 pm

      I’ve been very fortunate. I’ve been riding for more than a decade now. I bought my horse about 16 months ago – you can read the story under the catergory ‘My Horse’ and then the pieces “Being Basjan”.
      I love him very much.

  4. mish January 24, 2011 / 10:15 pm

    A lovely tribute Aly ~~ it re-inforces the special bond that you share !

    • Alyssa January 27, 2011 / 8:23 pm

      He is a very special horse.

  5. Aheïla January 25, 2011 / 12:02 am

    Very nicely written. The poetic touch and the rhythm play well with the feelings you convey.

    • Alyssa January 27, 2011 / 8:22 pm

      🙂 Thank you!

  6. Re Gypsy January 28, 2011 / 1:01 pm

    Sweet and just dreamy ;o)

Leave a Reply

