Autumn in the South

I’ve been noticing for the past week that the weather has been slowly but surely changing. Our days are still hot, but there’s a chill in the night and mornings which wasn’t there before. With it being the 1st of March, we’re officially entering my second most favourite season.
Autumn.
I am a winter baby. I was born in the winter and I believe that that fundamentally altered my DNA, imprinting me with a comfort zone of below 21C. That’s about 70F for all you Americans here. I believe that it’s one of the reasons I was so happy in the UK, because I was very rarely really hot. The summers were mild and the evenings always cool (bare in mind, I lived in Wales and Scotland. London’s a different kettle of fish).
I am at my happiest if I can walk around with long sleeved shirts and jeans – the perfect attire for autumn.
Autumn is always a time that signals change. Abroad, leaves start turning the colour of gold and different reds, trees start shedding their leaves and some of the bird species start gathering so that they can start on their long trek to hotter climates. I will never be one of them and heaven forbid that reincarnation ever pulls that joke on me.
This season gives me hope, hope that things will change for the better. That there is always another place to go to if you are uncomfortable. You have to put in extra effort to get there naturally, (the birds don’t take an airplane to Europe) but it will work out for the better. In the past couple of weeks, I’ve found myself holding onto that and feel that things will move towards a goal and equilibrium.
They have to, because it’s Autumn.

6 thoughts on “Autumn in the South

  1. suzy wong March 1, 2011 / 2:35 pm

    well, sista, happy autumn in your part of the country. we’re frying down here in cape town. 40 degrees c for today in stellenbosch. count your blessings :-p

    happy autumn!

    • Alyssa March 2, 2011 / 5:34 pm

      One of the many reasons why it’s good to be up hear. 😉

  2. Jenn March 1, 2011 / 3:37 pm

    Happy Autumn, I’m just about to head into Spring! I love to see the leaves coming out on the trees & the flowers start to pop up. I love the autumn too…very beautiful. And this Autumn, maybe a visit from one of my dearest friends?

    • Alyssa March 2, 2011 / 5:34 pm

      😉 Time will tell.

  3. hearandlearn March 2, 2011 / 6:33 am

    Hello Alyssa! This American, in the state of Ohio, wonders where yo uare that your winter has 70 degree F days? Must be rather close to the Equator? We in turn are slowly starting into Spring here, but our winters have high’s of 35 degrees F typically, and low’s close to zero. But our Springs and Falls are refreshing and enjoyable. My travels in the UK were mostly in the London area, with a few jaunts to see castles and manors, and I prayed for a 70 degree day there, LOL! TC Don

    • Alyssa March 2, 2011 / 5:36 pm

      Hey there and welcome to my blog!
      I live in South Africa where our winters are mild. Cold for a week or two, where we’d get temperatures below -5 degrees celcius in the evenings, but the days are rarely colder than 10 degrees C. That’s abpout 52F. I love winter time! I hate anything above 72 F which means that I’m uncomfortably most days of the year here, lol. 😉
      I’d melt close to the equator…

Leave a Reply

