Aheila’s Drabble Day Challenge – Dread

And, Aheila’s Drabble Day Challenge for the week.

To remind you, this is how it works:
Read the prompt and find your angle.
Write a drabble (100 words story, give or take five words).
Post a direct link to your drabble in the comments of Aheila’s blog (or, if you don’t have a blog, just go ahead and post your drabble in the comments).
In the post on your blog, make sure to link back to this post.
Today’s prompt is Dread! Bonus points for people who write the drabble without using that word or its synonyms

Dread

“I held her as she had the seizure,” my friend told me with wide eyes, her voice heavy with dark anticipation. “And, I told myself – that if it went on for a minute longer, I’ll bring her to the surgery and put her down. But…” Relief came to her voice like a fresh breath of air. “She stopped, and she’s fine now. Luckily.”
I felt for her, because I could see in her eyes the path that I was going to have to walk one day as well. She is an owner of an old dog.
As am I.

12 thoughts on “Aheila’s Drabble Day Challenge – Dread

  1. Ryan May 24, 2011 / 9:06 pm

    That’s a prospect we all dread, isn’t it!? Life is to be enjoyed while we can.

    • Alyssa June 7, 2011 / 4:10 pm

      Especially with our pets

  2. Aheïla May 25, 2011 / 1:04 am

    I’m with Ryan.
    My cats are my first animals. My family has always had a dog but I never bounded with them. So I haven’t gone through this type of situation yet. Not exactly. I did worry when the veterinarian screwed up my cat’s operation.

    • Alyssa June 7, 2011 / 4:13 pm

      I don’t trust vets anymore. Or most of them anyway.

  3. tskraghu May 25, 2011 / 3:10 am

    A day, one would like to push as far back in one’s mind.

  4. Jenn May 25, 2011 / 1:06 pm

    This is something I want to push back as far as I can too, but I have 2 old cats…I know it’s going to come sooner than I want.

  5. tara tyler May 25, 2011 / 5:46 pm

    awww. I’ve been thru that and dread the time I have to go thru it again, in 12 yrs or so…
    good job with the prompt.

    • Alyssa June 7, 2011 / 4:16 pm

      Thank you! I take it you have a young puppy…

  6. hearandlearn May 27, 2011 / 5:12 am

    Alyssa, bravo on the drabble! I too have been through that, I’d have preferred putting me down, and I have let the pain keep me from getting another dog. I now have to live my love for animals through other peoples’ dogs. Very good use of subject, and with darn few words too. Take Care! Don

    • Alyssa June 7, 2011 / 4:18 pm

      Thank you very much Don.

Leave a Reply

