Now that the Connection is open again…

I guess I have to catch up with what’s been happening.

The world has turned into a new year and after some increasing pressure and a few kicks from my mate @Stilldormant I realized that it would probably be worth it to start blogging again. I have realized a few things from last year.

  1. I don’t like feeling pressured to write. Setting goals for myself on this blog, forcing myself to blog, had been a mistake. I grew resentful and with so many other things on my plate I did the one thing I know how to do well. I cut it off and forgot about it. Till now that is.
  2. I’ve become a gamer. Oh dear. Yes. The obsession with Mass Effect is still abound. Now, more than ever, I find myself geeking out with the rest of the community, waiting anxiously for the beginning of the 9th of March. The release date of Mass Effect 3.
  3. I’m a nerd. Well, I didn’t realize this last year, but it’s just been reaffirmed again. Oh, how proud I am of the Nerdverse, oh – how frightened the rest of the world should be of us.
  4. I’m not writing to please anybody. I still write because I enjoy it. Writing with any other goal in mind (and yes, that includes publishing) just doesn’t work for me. I like to sit down and do what I do best. Write for myself. Write to escape. Write because I have to to do so to keep me sane.
  5. My country sucks. No, I didn’t get accepted into veterinary science. I’m too white. You can’t get much whiter than a red head unfortunately. And more pissed off about the matter. I don’t know how to fix this. I don’t know how to fix the ache that I have over not being out there studying again. I didn’t want to return to my job. I didn’t.
  6. I can face down a guy with a knife. Yes. I’ll blog about that later. Come on, it’s exciting. And, it’s worth it to know that nobody should mess with me.
  7. I didn’t turn out too bad… Having felt that I’ve been weighed, measured and found unworthy (or just too pale) by the veterinary department of Onderstepoort made me do a lot of soul searching. Yes, I knew it wasn’t my fault that I wasn’t selected, but still – I had to think about me for a bit. I like to do that, to sit down and measure whether or not I’m still alright with the person that I am. I faced a couple of things, realized some others, remembered a few more and came to the conclusion that although I might not be the nicest person out there in the universe, I’m pretty balanced. And, that’s alright.

It’s also worth a mention that I’ve put my creative gamer juices to good use and I’m now writing for a website called NerdTrek once a week. My articles range from gaming news, to movie reviews though when I have time I’ll probably expand this to a few oddball articles as well. It’s fun and rewarding.

So, watch this space returning, new and loyal readers. There will be more. I can’t say when, but there will be.

Alyss

8 thoughts on “Now that the Connection is open again…

  1. davidseven February 9, 2012 / 10:25 am

    I like number 4. (And number 6, but that is just because I am expecting an epic tale.)

    D7

    • Alyssa February 10, 2012 / 9:13 am

      😉 Thanks! And thank you for reading!

  2. Ryan February 9, 2012 / 4:43 pm

    Understandable that you are heartbroken about vet school. I know you have determination. Whatever you choose to do, whether to try again or something else, I know you’ll succeed. Have fun gaming! Good to see you blogging again.

    • Alyssa February 10, 2012 / 9:14 am

      🙂 Now I just need to catch up with everybody else’s blogs. *facepalm*
      Thanks mate.

  3. Aheïla February 10, 2012 / 3:39 am

    It’s very nice to hear from you again and all the points you’ve made are interesting. I’m sorry about vet school but I’m sure something else is going to present itself and, as Ryan said, I fully trust that you’ll succeed. 😉

    • Alyssa February 10, 2012 / 9:14 am

      😛 That or I’ll take the galaxy with me.
      Thanks Aheila. 😉 Now, where’s that report?!

  4. suzy wong February 14, 2012 / 1:39 pm

    yay! allyss is back!

Leave a Reply

