Getting back

Into the swing of things is quite hard after NaStyRoMo, lol. I’ve spend three weeks writing a totally original story I planned in about 5 minutes. It reached almost 20K word count wise and the characters are demanding more. I haven’t felt like this in ages, it’s quite… exhilarating. I’ve come to really appreciate the people that I worked with and I think that I’ve come to the conclusion that the only way to get to know a person well is to read their writing. People can act a lot when they speak to you, but there’s something raw and open about words on paper. It’s been a blessing to read other people’s stories I tell you. I have to go back to commercial writing now, lol, needing to finish the three (four if you count the one on hiatus) fan fiction stories that I have in the pipeline. I’m looking forward to it of course, but somehow it won’t be the same. This month has been a lot of fun and NaSty gave me a wonderful distraction to how crazy my life’s become.

I’d like to point y’all to a few websites once again. To those who want to know more about NaSty – please feel free to go to: http://nastyromo.webs.com We’ve gone world wide and hope to have more people to participate next year. The website is still under heavy construction, I’m doing it and I only have the odd moment to spare to play with it. Next, feel free to go to the NaSty blog. I realized that I haven’t pointed this one out at all. You can find the other participants stories there. It’s at: http://nastyromo.wordpress.com
Lastly – and this is more directed towards the NaStyNine, I’d like to point you all towards www.fictionpress.com. It’s a great website on which to host original stories and get some feedback.

Hope to read you all soon!

Alyss

10 thoughts on “Getting back

  1. satisne February 25, 2010 / 8:05 pm

    So i sat down and read this in one go. mmmm it was like a box of chocolates, couldnt let it go once i have started. Loved the characters especially the four legged ones and the aspirant four legged ones. A bit of spiritual alchemy – loved the concept. Hope to see more, much, much more. Thanks for an experience that i will remember.s

    • Alyssa February 26, 2010 / 1:46 am

      🙂 Glad to see that you have found your way here Satisne. As always, it’s a pleasure to hear from you.
      Alchemy remains a fascination to me, a topic I studied in a Magician’s house.
      Keep well till next time. A.

  2. Phil February 25, 2010 / 8:52 pm

    Hi Alyssa! Are we becoming famous? I mean that’s a scary thought. Websites and feedback? Lol.
    I’ve got to catch up on your stories. I’m looking forward to that. Thanks, btw, for your comment on my story, Blue Parrot Blues. I don’t know if you read my reply but I said that it was your story about Siobhan that got me to write a story where moods and atmosphere were important to the plot and the characters. So thank you!

    Oh, and since we’re both 26, I have to ask… Why is 26 a wretched age? Lol. My b’day is Dec. 1st so, so far not too wretched. Am I in for any surprises? 😉

    • Alyssa February 26, 2010 / 1:48 am

      *laughs* I’m turning 26 this year Phil, not there yet.
      I have a problem with my late twenties as they are not early twenties anymore. Technically, i’m supposed to be settled by now, well on my way to a career woman. I could get away with not being that early twenties. But, late twenties people start to wonder…
      I posted in your blog! thank you again for your kind words. I’m always happy when the writing bug dislodges from me and travels to somebody else with it’s secrets.
      See ya around!
      Alyss

  3. Fyrefly February 26, 2010 / 2:31 am

    That was great!! I wasn’t going to read it all at once, but thats just what I ended up doing. I’d get to the end of one part and have to go to the next to see what happens. Thanks for writing that story, I really enjoyed reading it.

    • Alyssa February 28, 2010 / 5:15 am

      Thank you! it’s great that you enjoyed it, and it’s great that you’re back reading here. 🙂 Luckily it was a relatively short story! 😉
      Hope you;’re well!
      Alyss

  4. Tiffany February 28, 2010 / 12:39 am

    I know what you mean. I feel like I’ve gotten to know you all – and I think of the NN 😉 as friends. I know you work at a restaurant – do you have a paying job as a writer?
    PS – I’m 35 and have a career and still don’t feel settled. Maybe once you feel settled life becomes boring, or I don’t know, maybe it means you found your destiny, LOL. My point is, either way enjoy 26 and don’t stress over a time table. Follow your heart and forget about what anyone thinks.

    • Alyssa February 28, 2010 / 10:21 pm

      *laughs* I wish. I really do. I’m one of those people who has always just wanted to write. I didn’t really care about being published and things, but – it seemed to be the next step. But, I was told there’s no future in writing, so I decided to become an animal scientist instead. Can’t find work in my field though – so i’m waitressing to pay my bills. I had a couple of other jobs but i’ve just quit one. When i’ve digested it, i’m probably going to write a blog post about it.

  5. Marsha February 28, 2010 / 9:09 pm

    Let me second what Tiffany just said. I’m old enough to be the mother to nearly all of my NaSty friends and I can tell you that life has a whole bunch of surprises in store for you, so enjoy life as much as possible. There is a line in a country song that I love “if you want to hear God laugh tell him your plans” I have found it to be true.

    • Alyssa February 28, 2010 / 10:24 pm

      I hope so. 🙂 I suspect that God has a plan, and every time I try and make my own plans things just somehow fall back to his. *laughs* and I so hate being dictated to, ask my partner…
      Inevitably, i hope it has surprises in store for me. Because i fear an ordinary life.

Leave a Reply

