Aheila’s Drabble Day – Paint

I’ve retaken an interest in Aheila’s Drabble Day Challenges. On my new ‘scheme’ for May, I suspect that they will always then fall in the Tuesday slot as they are released by her on Monday.

To remind you, the drabble day challenges work like this:

  • Read the prompt and find your angle.
  • Write a drabble (100 words story, give or take five words).
  • Post a direct link to your drabble in the comments (or, if you don’t have a blog, just go ahead and post your drabble in the comments).
  • In the post on your blog, make sure to link back to this post.

Today’s word is: Paint

Paint

It was everywhere. The art. The beauty, the anguish of an artist’s work.

Clouds drifted in the air like the thin strokes of a painter’s brush. The perfect milieu.

And around me, the master piece. Fine droplets dripping from my tool of perfection. Sprays like mist. Pools of paint spilling out to make shapes no hand can imitate.

I smile and rub the red mark from my face looking at the darker color that stained my hand. Then, with a sniff, I sheave my brush, my sword and go back to my squad.

We are artists, masters of our art.

We are killers.

14 thoughts on “Aheila’s Drabble Day – Paint

  1. Jenn May 3, 2011 / 1:12 pm

    I liked it…kinda dark though….

    • Alyssa May 3, 2011 / 1:17 pm

      I’m in a funny mood today… Blame it on work and lack of sleep…
      And Shutter Island.

  2. tskraghu May 3, 2011 / 5:54 pm

    OMG, abs sinister, packs so much malevolence in so few words.

    • Alyssa May 4, 2011 / 1:08 pm

      poison comes in small containers. 🙂

  3. Ryan May 3, 2011 / 9:55 pm

    “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.” And of course art to one is not necessarily that to another. Very nice take on the prompt, Alyss!

  4. suzy wong May 4, 2011 / 12:31 pm

    Taking on the challenge today. Here’s my drabble, Alyss!

    Imagine a tin of paint. You’re pulling your hand from it. Slowly. Deliberately. The paint drips from your fingers. Keep your hand from your body, careful not to spill on yourself. The movement is in the shoulder joint. Your hand is heavy with gravity. In your back the latissimus dorsi is working. Feel it. Summons it to work. That is where the power comes from. Store the memory.

    Take the bow. Draw on C, the lowest string. Do not exert power. Let the muscle in your back do the work; arm and hand just an extension. Play from your tailbone, almost. Let the cello sound.

    • Alyssa May 4, 2011 / 1:10 pm

      Very nice! I took the liberty and put it in the original Drabble Day Challenge post as well. 🙂

      Thank you for participating!

      • suzy wong May 4, 2011 / 3:23 pm

        😉

    • Aheïla May 9, 2011 / 1:32 am

      Hello Suzy!
      I’m glad you took on the challenge because this is a very interesting piece. As a bit of a musician myself (mostly piano and flute but I took a few violin classes as well), I like your portrait of the important of ‘feeling the music’.
      I hope you’ll stop by for the next challenge as well! 😉

  5. Ryan May 4, 2011 / 9:00 pm

    I really like it, Suzi! I can almost hear the cello play. 🙂

  6. Aheïla May 9, 2011 / 1:33 am

    Oh! Dark! So violent and yet so zen.
    Hmmm, I think I need some tea to get my assassin through her next rough patch. 😉

    • Alyssa May 22, 2011 / 5:49 pm

      Assasins and tea goes hand in hand!

  7. suzy wong May 9, 2011 / 10:51 am

    gee, thank you, guys!

Leave a Reply

