Aheila’s Drabble Day Challenge – Abandon

It’s a little bit late this week, but I noticed that our hostess also posted her drabble a bit later this week.

For your entertainment, here is my drabble:

Abandon

Little life, quiet and beautiful with eyes so bright.
I see you look at me, feel you as you reach out to me. I scoop you in my arms and hold you, touch you, kiss you lightly on your head. Together, we run and jump. I hold you above my head and spin you around until I loose my footing. You are not mine, but you bring an echo in my heart. A yearning for what I might never have.
And then you leave and you return to your own mother. You, the child of my colleague.
And I stand there, alone.
Abandoned.

8 thoughts on “Aheila’s Drabble Day Challenge – Abandon

  1. Jenn May 20, 2011 / 8:19 pm

    Oh…my heart aches…only because it strikes a chord in me for the exact same reasons.
    Hugs for us both.

    • Alyssa May 22, 2011 / 5:46 pm

      🙂 Yup, hugs for us both!
      Thanks Jenn

  2. Ryan May 20, 2011 / 8:26 pm

    that’s a really beautifully expressed piece, Alyss!

    • Alyssa May 22, 2011 / 5:45 pm

      Thank you Ryan. 🙂

  3. Re Gypsy May 20, 2011 / 9:51 pm

    I ditto Jenn, stuck a chord too.

  4. Re Gypsy May 20, 2011 / 9:55 pm

    “an echo in my heart” , I really liked that line, very poetic makes my heartache too.

  5. Aheïla May 23, 2011 / 7:23 pm

    Tender and poignant. Its bound to resonate with readers, especially women.

Leave a comment